Opened as a public museum in November 1927, the Flag House is dedicated to preserving the story of Mary Young Pickersgill, craftswoman of the Star-Spangled Banner. At the Flag House, you’ll encounter the historic house furnished to an approximate 1813 appearance, learn about the women in Mary’s household that helped craft the most famous flag to ever fly, and discover how the historic house has acted as a cornerstone of the Jonestown community for more than 220 years.
Hours of Operation
We are located on the corner of E. Pratt St. and Albemarle St., just north of Little Italy, in the Jonestown neighborhood of Baltimore. Our street address is 844 E. Pratt St.
Effective November 2021, the Flag House no longer has designated street parking for visitors on Albemarle Street. There is free street parking throughout the Jonestown and Little Italy neighborhoods, and the PMI parking garage is conveniently located across from the Flag House at 815 E. Pratt Street.
Every effort is made to accommodate visitors with special needs. Due to the age of the historic Flag House, some areas are not accessible to individuals with physical disabilities. The Flag House’s permanent exhibit, Children’s Discovery Gallery, ballroom, public restrooms, and first floor of the Maryland House are wheelchair accessible. It is necessary to climb stairs to tour the historic Flag House. An audio tour is available to all visitors. A virtual tour of the historic house is available for groups upon request.